RSS

(Very Late) Year-End Wrap Up

27 Jan

Alright so it’s time to wrap up 2012.  I wanted to do this weeks ago but my internet has not been cooperating at all.  I finally went out and bought a new router this weekend and finally my internet is back where it should be!

Last year I spent a total of $1,206.33 on my knitting with the breakdown available on my 2012 Knitting Costs page.  This was a lot lower than I expected.  I think the main reason is that I already had a decent size stash and didn’t end up buying as much yarn as I have in the past.  I also got a lot of Christmas presents for knitting supplies in 2011 that covered most of what I wanted.

I made eight Christmas presents and spent a total of 103 hours on them.  You can see them on all my 2012 Christmas Knitting page with all the code names linked to the actual gift.  I had quite a bit of fun with those code names so I think I’ll do the same thing this year.  The real question is if I’m going to try to pass the number of hours I spent!

The highlight of the year was going to my first knitting events at Stitches Midwest.  It was my first time taking classes instead of teaching myself!  I had a lot of fun and I’m sure I’ll be going again this year.  I also took a Natural Dye Workshop in Chicago.  I don’t know what I’ll do with this now that I’ve tried it but I’m glad to have the intro into the process.  I have a feeling that it will probably be another year or two before I pursue it much further.  I still have a lot of other knitting goals to hit first!

I do have some missed goals from last year that I’ll be having to make up in 2013! I started the TKGA Master Knitting program but sadly did not finish it. Luckily I have made my progress documented so I can pick it back up again! I also started my first sweater but that will also have to be finished this year as well.

Oops!! I almost forgot.  I also wrote my first two patterns last year: Infinity Drop Stitch Scarf and Basic Knee High Socks!  Plus I did my first two giveaways on this blog: Travelling Roses Scarf and the Beaded Cable Belt.  I did more than I thought last year!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2013 in Knitting Life

 

Tags:

2 responses to “(Very Late) Year-End Wrap Up

  1. writeknit

    January 27, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    Glad to see you back online.

     
  2. KnitWit

    January 28, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Great post-I love the idea of ‘knitting goals’! I’m definitely new to this, as I did a double take at the amount of money you’d spent on knitting stuff. I expect my sister would think nothing of it though!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

