RSS

Windansea Hat – Code Name: Hawk

05 Jan

Windansea

Yarn: Knit One Crochet Too 2nd Time Cotton, Irish Linen – 100/100 g
Yarn Weight: Worsted
Needles: Size 6 (4 mm) circular
Size: Large
Pattern Location: Ravelry’s Windansea Hat
Time Spent: 10 hours
Dates: 12/8/2012 – 12/11/2012

This was the fifth 2012 Christmas present, code name “Hawk.”  I made it for my mom, code name “Black Mamba,” since she wanted this hat or the ridiculously complicated Nightingale socks.  I will make those socks one day but I have a feeling it will be for me.  The hat was still a challenge because I’ve never made a brimmed hat.

The hardest part was finding the “millinery wire” it asked for.  Save yourself some time if you’re looking for this and go on Etsy.  I bought mine from LuLu Deux Millinery; the price was good and the shipping was fast.  I wish I had just gone straight to Etsy instead of trying to find it in any stores around me.  I know people make substitutes but I did not find any substitute I liked.  If I ever make another brimmed hat I will also buy the joiners.  The pattern says to tape the two ends together but a real joiner seems worth it me.

The second hardest part was crocheting an encasing around the wire.  There were a few times the wire was tricky to work with but mostly it was because I’m a terrible crocheter.  I was also very surprised by how much yarn was used up for the encasing.  Again this may just be my lack of experience with crocheting.

The final difficulty was finding a box to wrap it in!  I didn’t want a bag because that would put pressure on the brim and it’d end up slightly misshapen.  Luckily Hobby Lobby had a small collection of hat boxes.  The first one I tried was a tiny bit too small so I ended up buying one that was quite a bit bigger than necessary.  Fortunately my mom really liked the hat box too so it ended up as two gifts in one =)

I do have enough millinery wire left over to make a second hat.  Maybe if my mom decides she needs a lighter weight or different color I’ll make her a second one since I already have the hardest part done!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 5, 2013 in Finished Objects (FO)

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Windansea Hat – Code Name: Hawk

  1. ipinnedit

    January 5, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    I didn’t realize you made that hat! Great job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

